🐈
» Groups » AI & Machine Learning » Forum » Buzzfeed & ChatGPT. Thoughts From Writers?
Page options
virtualbrix
Community Member

Buzzfeed & ChatGPT. Thoughts From Writers?

Not sure if you all seen this in the last couple days. They basically laid off a bunch of staff and said they are going to leverage AI to create all kinds of content. Funny thing is, Google has already said that it is working on not promomoting / ranking ChatGPT content but even than, how would Google know : )

What do you all think? Especially content writers?

https://www.cnn.com/2023/01/26/media/buzzfeed-ai-content-creation/index.html

10 REPLIES 10
williamtcooper
Community Member

Samer,

Thanks for the Post! 

You don't want to get me started on this topic. As a AI Marketing Economist, I am too close to these trends.

It's the ChatGPT-3 API application tools that are currently having the biggest impact.

When I was in college I worked for the Small Business Development as a consultant and had the opportunity to work on about 100 projects especially business plans. For the fun of it last week, I created a flower shop's three year business plan including financials in 10 seconds. Of course if I was helping a client, modifications at Intermediate to Expert level would have been needed. However, it completely removed entry level work and saved hours of my time compared to the old days.

Recent headline news on ChatGPT:

- Makes B grade on Wharton MBA exam

- Passes state medical exam

- Passes several parts of state law exam

- Codes new website

From a labor economic worldview, there are many implications.

Assume a company employs 100 writers and with the new API application tools now only needs 20 writers to get the job completed. 80 writers become unemployed seeking jobs throughout the Net. Now there is less of a need for writers from the Corporations and there is a flood of new competition. This is one of dozens of examples that will begin to play out in 2023 going forward.