This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.

Jamaica

Highlighted
Shardae H Member Since: Jul 16, 2014
For all those who are Jamaican and any other Caribbean country please join and share you experience of odesk and the clients.
20 REPLIES 20
dwhyte h Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
I've been a odesk freelancer since the summer of 2010 and it works perfectly for me. Flexible hours, plus I'm earning $US currency, so no complaints here. Dwhyte from Spain Town
Frequent Visitor
Marian W Member Since: Oct 9, 2014
Hi, I am new to oDesk. I have realized that there are not many Jamaicans on here. I would really appreciate some tips/ help on landing jobs on here. Thanks in advance.
Ace Contributor
Gayon B Member Since: Sep 7, 2016

Hi marian,

Yes that is true, but do continue to apply for jobs and eventually you will land one.

Firstly, you need to have a great profile. Try to have your profile as updated as possible, and always ensure it is up to date as you learn new skills every day so make sure to incorporate those on there. 

Secondly, you do research on your client before applying. Read reviews from other freelancers who have worked with that client before to see what they said about them. Also look for a name. Some freelancers post their client's name in their feedback and this really helps you in your proposal when applying to personalize and wow your future client. Also I always like to tick that option that says payment is verified in the left side of your page when searching for jobs. Non verified clients may be legitimate too but I like to be on the safer side.