cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Frequently Asked Questions on TOS changes regarding information sharing and interviews

Highlighted
Ivan T Member Since: May 16, 2016
791 of 931

I'm a videographer and my portfolio is on Vimeo.

Can I share Vimeo link on my proposal or conversation before the project starts?

Highlighted
Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
792 of 931

Hi Ivan,

Yes! We know sharing your past work is important. Therefore, you can share links to external portfolios when you submit a proposal. Note: We understand external portfolios may include contact information, it is still fine to share these, though please make sure to ask the client to only contact you via Upwork.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
Highlighted
John L Member Since: Apr 8, 2019
793 of 931

I'd love it if the platform would do a bit better job educating clients on this. I have had several clients recently request Zoom calls, emails, etc -- and are put out when I have to play ToS police. I'm fine with the terms, I just wish I didn't have to be the one to teach the client about it. It can make the early communications unnecessarily difficult and adversarial.

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
794 of 931

Thanks for sharing your experience, John. We did notify all users about the new Terms of Service updates via email and site announcements. Now we are focused on making sure freelancers and clients understand the new terms and avoid any issues. We have been working on improving notifications users see in Messages when they include certain keywords and have been using every opportunity we can to help our users learn about the “do’s and don’ts” of using Upwork.

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Upwork Staff
Anna N Upwork Staff Member Since: Feb 2, 2018
795 of 931