Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Insight on how Job Success Score is calculated

Community Guru
Darrin O Member Since: Jan 20, 2015
11 of 317

@Preston H wrote:
As a contractor, I feel like am very aware of how job scores work, but I don't feel like I am dissuaded from working with new clients. New clients make up a large percentage of my clientele.

Surely you understand the difference between having 7 and 57 past jobs, and the percentage difference one bad client would have on either of our profiles.  Don't make the mistake of thinking your situation applies to everyone, or even most people.  Again, it comes down to what corporate goals Upwork has in structuring the JSS as they have.  To those of us who have yet to build up a history here, these policies do very much discourage new people, both clients and freelancers, from participating on this site.  It's up to Upwork to decide if their goal is stagnation or renewal.

Ace Contributor
Anton C Member Since: Mar 26, 2015
12 of 317

Though my JS has seen only increases and now at 97%, I also find it at least strange that freelancers are required to bug (ok, "work with") clients asking them to close contracts and give feedback. The main problem here is that they don't do it. I had several very old and inactive contracts, some of 2 years or so, I asked them - with no result. They don't even reply. I tried to contact them by email, LinkedIn - the same result. They just disappeared, vanished. Though they were good clients to work with. This system of "working with" just doesn't work, it's dead on arrival. So I just ended these contracts myself. But again I have to admit that it didn't hurt my JS, and I have nothing to complain in this regard.

Branislav B Member Since: Dec 8, 2014
13 of 317

This is kinda stupid.