Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Re: Location Selection Expanding to UK Clients

Highlighted
Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
1 of 1,213

We are excited to announce that next week we are expanding our location selection features to now include clients in the United Kingdom.

 

Last year, we rolled out a set of location features in the U.S. that allowed clients who are interested in only hiring freelancers within their country the ability to set their freelancer search and job post accordingly.  We found that giving clients this additional option brought in more new clients without taking away opportunities from our global community (freelancers’ earnings all over are growing steadily).

 

Because this functionality was well-received by our clients and freelancers in the U.S., we’ve decided to build them out in the U.K. as well. New clients in the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland), will now be able to post jobs targeted to freelancers in the U.K.



Clients  in U.K, here’s how it’ll work:

 

U.K. clients who prefer to hire within their country will have the option of setting their freelancer search and job post visibility to freelancers in the U.K. only.  And, only freelancers with a U.K. location in their profile will see these jobs and if verified, will be able to submit proposals for them. Clients can always change their mind or choose to invite a freelancer outside of the U.K. to these job posts.

 

UK client location.png

Freelancers in U.K., what this means for you:

 

You’ll start seeing jobs with a U.K. location requirement

On your job search, you’ll be able to filter for jobs with this requirement. These jobs will show up in your results, indicated like this:

 

UK Job tile.png

 

You may be asked to verify your location the first time you submit a proposal for a project with a location requirement.

Your city is now displayed on your profile to U.K. clients

On profiles, your location will now be listed as a city instead of a country. A map will also display pointing to the center of the city.


UK Fl location.png


Let us know if you have any questions.

Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 1,213

@Lena E wrote:

We are excited to announce that next week we are expanding our location selection features to now include clients in the United Kingdom.



 Guess what? I am not "excited!"

 

I won't outline my feelings about this, as I fail to find polite words.

 

I assume the heavy handed, deliberately and willingly discriminatory practice of making it the default with no true choice will also be included just as it is for US clients?

 

 Apparently this is no longer the case, so the above is no longer valid. Thanks for clarifying Valeria! (Maybe best to delete these 4 posts to not confuse others with my outdated outrage Smiley Wink )

 

Highlighted
Community Manager
Lena E Community Manager Member Since: Apr 7, 2015
3 of 1,213

Hey Petra, 

 

When new clients in UK post a job, there is a question if clients would like post for UK-only or Worldwide.  This same format is for US clients job posts too. 

 

UK client location.png

 

Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 1,213

@Lena E wrote:

Hey Petra, 

 

When new clients in UK post a job, there is a question if clients would like post for UK-only or Worldwide.  This same format is for US clients job posts too. 

 

UK client location.png

 


 Why do my US clients tell me it defaults to US only unless they physicallly go and change it?

Are they lying? (PS - this has been confirmed here in the forum many times, too.)

 

Apparently this was changed. Thanks!

Highlighted
Moderator
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
5 of 1,213

Hi Petra,

I suspect your clients were referring to an older version of the job posting flow. The job post flow was updated several months ago when we were updating our site to become mobile friendly. Please, see this thread and screenshots Preston posted of the options shown to US clients.

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
6 of 1,213

@Valeria K wrote:

I suspect your clients were referring to an older version of the job posting flow. The job post flow was updated several months ago when we were updating our site to become mobile friendly.


 Hi Valeria,

 

Indeed , that was several months ago.  So now every time a client posts a job they get to choose? If that's the case, I retract what I said and correct it, and Thanks, that's much better news!

 

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Arsalan A Member Since: Oct 1, 2015
7 of 1,213

It seems to old post, But can anyone do for search engine location only for pakistan clients for me please?

Highlighted
Moderator
Joanne Marie P Moderator Member Since: Nov 26, 2017
8 of 1,213

Hi Arsalan,

 

If you're referring to location selection for jobs posted, this is currently being offered to US and UK jobs. We recognize that sometimes clients need a freelancer located in the same country. Their projects may require localized knowledge, the possibility of on-site coordination, specific compliance needs, or other factors that make working with someone within their country an easier way to get started on Upwork. 

 

We currently support some level of location filtering for all clients by specifying their requirements in the job description and/or setting location as Preferred Qualification, but freelancers from outside the country may still submit proposals.


-Joanne
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Gosia B Member Since: Sep 25, 2020
9 of 1,213

HI there!

May I ask why I need a British Passport to be able to apply for jobs? The majority of foreigners live in the UK without a British Passport. I've got a Polish passport and the Indefinite Leave to Remain in UK and frankly right now having a British Passport isn't of much use when travelling as quite a few countries hold restrictions on people travelling from the UK, not to mention the ones actually having British passport. The fact that I don't have one shouldn't be a thing disqualifying me from applying for any job/project through your site as I have lived in London for almost 12 years and I have never had the need or the want for a British passport.

Moderator
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
10 of 1,213

Hi Gosia,

 

I understand your concern but would like to clarify that you can complete the verification process even if you don't have a UK passport. Please submit a UK driving licence instead or do follow up here if you don't have a license and we'll assist you further.

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS