Eitan M wrote:
I mistakenly created a specialized profile. How do I delete it?
Go to Profile Settings > Scroll down to Specialized profiles; You can View, Edit, Switch Specialty, or Delete.
That you for the reply! Here is my problem - I don't see it "specialized profiles" under profile settings" (I'm beginning to think I found a bug).
Here is what I'm doing:
Never mind. I worked it out. It turns out that Upwork wanted me to change my password and set up 2-factor authentication before it would allow me to access the profile settings. (Even though it let me edit other things). I wish it would have displayed some sort of error message!
Actually - I take it back.
I can get to the "Specilized profile" section now under sttings but my only chioces are "Veiw", "Edit", and "Switch Specialites". (No delete!)
I just finished up a big new site and I want to add it to my portfolio.
When I click on the (+) button, it prompts me to create a specialized profile. I don't want a specialized profile. When I click "not now" it simply quits.
How can I add a portfolio item to my general profile?
A freelancer won't be able to add a new portfolio item or edit an existing one without adding a Specialized Profile because we are encouraging freelancers to create Specialized profiles. Specialized profiles allow freelancers to better describe the work they do and showcase their skills, portfolio items and previous work experience in a format that helps clients find best freelancers for their specific projects.
Once I jump through the hoop of creating a specialized profile, will I be able to add portfolio items to my general profile again? Because I want my general profile to be up to date. I don't know what category people will be using when they come across my profile and I want them to see an accurate portfolio.
I see in the description of specialized profiles that there will be a link to it from my general profile, but I don't expect users to always see links. Also, they shouldn't have to go looking through multiple copies of my profiles in order to see my complete portfolio.
I can apprecate why specialized profiles might help in certain circumstances, but forcing us to do it is really cumbersome. Not as bad as the new rules about contact information and phone calls, but it's still one more thing that makes me feel like UpWork doesn't care.
Note that if you add portfolio items to your specialized profile, they will be added to your general profile automatically.
Specialized profiles you create will be visible when you or a client clicks into your existing general profile, and clients can post jobs using a template that matches these new profiles. Specialized profiles will also be shown when you show up in relevant search results. Whether your general or specialized profile is shown will vary depending on the scenario and choices you make:
When a client uses the search function to search for freelancers we will show them your most relevant profile. For example, if they specifically search for mobile app development and you have a specialized mobile app development profile, that profile will be shown in search results.
Here are some other scenarios:
"Note that if you add portfolio items to your specialized profile, they will be added to your general profile automatically."
I just spent 30 minutes creating a specialized profile and adding the new portfolio item to it.
When I click on the "Public View" of my general profile, the new portfolio item isn't showing.
How can I make sure that when people land on whatever profile your system decides they are going to land on, that they see my entire portfolio? Does this mean that I need to spend hours creating a specialized profile for every single possible category that people might be using? And even then, I still have to hope that they don't land on my general profile.
If I create a bunch of specialized profiles, do I then have to update the portfolio on every single one when I want to add a single item to my portfolio?
I checked your account, and I can confirm that you have added a portfolio item that is currently in review. Once the review of the item you submitted is complete, that should be viewable in your account.