This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.

PINOY Project Managers Unite

Highlighted
Jery E Member Since: May 4, 2015

Good day fellow PMs!

I've been scouting around to see if how much project manager's are getting paid these days. Unfortunately, most project managers here in oDesk only asks for as low as $3/hr even for PMs from the US (I even saw a PMP Certified freelancer charge for only $5/hr!). Because of this I had to bring down my rate as well to keep up with the competition in which I think is not fair.

I've been a project manager for 12 years now and been doing freelance work here in oDesk for 8 years. Despite of our specialization, new skills acquired on every project and mastery of our craft... other PM's tend to offer lower rates.. for what? To attract more clients?

This is a bit frustrating because I take pride of what I love doing and project management is not just and should not be aligned or even considered just an admin support job.

I just want to hear the thoughts from other project managers here and perhaps we can exchange view and ideas to bring back our former glory where clients look up on us and understand the importance and complexity of our work.

Your thoughts please...

5 REPLIES 5
Community Guru
Santiago G Member Since: Mar 10, 2015

I'm not a Project Manager but I'm thinking the reasons you're seeing what you've been running into are:

1) You're right, the competition from others that are just starting out along with veteran PMs. It gets rough when someone is competing with others that are just starting out.

2) Other PMs that currently are unaware of how much they really can make as a PM.

3) Clients relying on the exchange rates to be able to get a freelancer at a lower price.