🐈 Community
» Workspace » Career CloseUp » Career Stories » Graphic Designer | Will
Page options
Graphic Designer | Will

In the beginning.

Worked in tech startups for about 11 years as operations manager, Event Manager (and a multitude of other ‘hats’ inevitably required when working in a startup scenario).

Worked my way up starting as temp tech-support to operations manager over the course of 2 years, identifying gaps in processes or areas that could be optimized > then just did the work and ended up taking ownership of more and more sections of the company. Nobody assigned me these new roles, I just saw what needed doing and started doing it. 

Learning along the journey.

Taught myself constantly, rarely if ever in a class/course environment (the internet is an epic source of self improvement - no excuses).

Self taught: SalesForce Admin and customization, Zendesk admin, design & marketing, support documentation, partner program development, business development & much, much more.Hosted weekly web events, mix of sales, education, partner programs etc.

Learned a LOT and was honed into a potent tool for getting projects done but it was a real soul-sucking experience in the end. 

Will’s a-ha moment.

I was burnt out and stressed to the point of medical concern. Took the opportunity to transition to freelance full time as a graphic designer and it was not a seamless transition (a story common to many who make this transition as I well know from my hosted events).

Finding my way as a freelancer took the support of trusted entities in my personal life as well as various professional connections who were amazing at providing perspective and support as I fumbled my way through the transition.

What didn’t work in the beginning?

I was not smart about using the resources available to me as an Upwork freelancer. I never attended educational events. I rarely read any support materials on how best to succeed in this new space.