🐈
» Workspace » Career CloseUp » Career Stories » Video Producer | Gilbert
Page options
Sep 20, 2022
Video Producer | Gilbert

I'm an entrepreneur, a freelance video producer, and a blogger. I've been freelancing for now 10 years and I'm still in that journey to financial freedom. My first job was an office messenger. That was what I did after high school. My brother owns a construction company and during that time I asked him if he can give me an opportunity to do something in his business as I wait to join college and he agreed. My second job was freelancing for a newspaper. I used to like writing while still in high school. I had taken a course from the Writers Bureau in U.K. It was a correspondence course that I did online and I didn't complete it though, but during my time in college I was freelancing as a writer to the local newspaper and articles I wrote for the newspaper were for children. These were put out every week that they have for children and I did a lot of articles for children while I was in college. So my second career was freelancing and that is what actually shaped my thoughts and my perception on freelancing. I did train as a broadcast journalist back in the year 2010, where I graduated with a diploma. My current role is freelance video producer. On Upwork, a friend of mine introduced me to Elance and oDesk, I signed up for both and I started freelancing as a video producer. I manage my productions, from pre-production, production and post production. I have been able to consistently be a freelancer for now, 10 years.