🐈
» Forums » Clients » Account deactivated
Page options
simonaazi
Community Member

Account deactivated

I am a freelancer and all goes well with work. However, for my fashion brand, I needed to find a social media manager for Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook. I created another account (as a client) and posted a job. Within minutes the account was deactivated stating that the job post is fraudulent. Excuse me, what? What is so wrong with looking for a social media manager??? Looks like I will have to find a freelancer elsewhere?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Anna:

There may have been some confusion on your part with regards to how to set things up so that you can hire as a client.

Upwork wants you to be able to do that, but what it wants you to do is to create a "client account" or "client company" or "client aspect" WITHIN your already-existing freelancer login account.

This means you will log into Upwork using the SAME username and the SAME password, but when you log in, you will switch between your "freelancer side" and your "client side."

The message you received was misleading. Think of it as a programming glitch, rather than an "accurate" message. The problem was not with your job posting. The problem was with your "second Upwork account."

Be a Client and a Freelancer

Screen Shot 2019-11-26 at 10.32.29 AM.png

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

Anna:

There may have been some confusion on your part with regards to how to set things up so that you can hire as a client.

Upwork wants you to be able to do that, but what it wants you to do is to create a "client account" or "client company" or "client aspect" WITHIN your already-existing freelancer login account.

This means you will log into Upwork using the SAME username and the SAME password, but when you log in, you will switch between your "freelancer side" and your "client side."