🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Amount of Time to Accept Offer
Page options
4df86aad
Community Member

Amount of Time to Accept Offer

I am new to Upwork and made my first job offer yesterday.  I was shocked to see that the freelancer had 7 days to accept.  I used the Upwork Chat feature to get assistance on this and was told: " I can see that it is system designed that the freelancer have 7 days to accept the offer and we cannot shortened that time frame, however, once the freelancer received the offer, they can accept it as soon as possible."

This is so bad for the Clients from a business point of view on so many levels and so many clients can be hurt by this that I'm wondering if I simply just don't understand the work-arounds or other subleties.

Would someone please provide some insight on this important issue.

8 REPLIES 8
stephenbrightman
Community Member

All you need to do is manually over-ride it. Tell the freelancer they have whatever amount of time to decide. If they haven't replied by then, withdraw the offer.

Stephen, thank you for the rapid and helpful reply.

I went through the offer process again and didn't see any way to change the 7 day parameter; in fact, I didn't even see any reference to it.  I also looked at my personal settings and found nothing.  Other than sending a message to the freelancer outside of the offer process, I can't find any other way to accomplish this.

Could you please detail the process?

Thank you, again.

Hi Charlotte,

When the offer is pending freelancer's response, you as a client have an option to view it in your Freelancers tab and withdraw it if needed. I believe that's what Stephen was referring to. There is no option to edit the offer expiration date.

~ Valeria
Upwork

Thank you, Valeria.

I meant was, have a discussion with the client at interview stage as to how long they can wait for you to accept an offer. Good communication is everything on here.

7 days to decide?

only if you allow that long.