🐈
» Forums » Clients » Any advice for new Upwork client - not happy ...
Page options
8bcc2b2e
Community Member

Any advice for new Upwork client - not happy with freelancer

Hi community,

I'm new to Upwork but have hired freelancers outside of the platform. I rently hired two freelancers on Upwork to write two separate eBooks for me. I'm very happy with one freelancer's work. The problem is with the other freelancer.

Since I'm new to Upwork I want to handle the situation fairly and correctly. I'd really appreciate some advice from the community. Here's a summary:

• Before hiring I exchanged messages with the freelancer and reviewed her writing samples (one in particular because it was on the same topic as my book).
  • I then sent her a two-page document explaining expectations for the work and summarized the key points in a message. 
  • I explained that the project would be broken into four milestones. 1. submit detailed outline, 2. submit one chapter, 3. submit full manuscript + book description, 4. submit revised manuscript (based on my comments). 
  • She agreed to my process and I sent her an offer. I funded the first milestone ($100 for the outline).
  • Today, the freelancer submitted a full manuscript and asked for payment in full plus a bonus. I thought she was working on the first milestone as agreed and so was confused by this.
  • I let her know that she was only supposed to submit an outline at this stage but released the first $100 for her time and as a gesture of goodwill (maybe she hadn't understood the concept of milestones?!)
  • I just started reviewing her manuscript and it doesn't match the quality of the sample she sent me. Nor does it meet my guidelines (for example I asked for action steps at the end of each chapter).