🐈
» Forums » Clients » Background checks
Page options
ab252c9f
Community Member

Background checks

I am not entirely sure I am posting to the right group but I am new to upwork. I have hired my first couple of freelances and everything worked out well. Here is the problem, part of the project that I am giving out deals with financial data of third persons, I want to ensure that this information is secure so I have redacted identifing information, however this process is time consuming on my part. 

I would therefore was thinking that a background check may be useful. I actually would perfer not handling the freelance's personal information so is there a service that I can sign up and pay for and direct the free lancer to so they can submit to a background check and then a report is sent to me? 

Any other ideas on how to safeguard this information would be useful. 

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

@Jeffrey G wrote:

I would therefore was thinking that a background check may be useful. I actually would perfer not handling the freelance's personal information so is there a service that I can sign up and pay for and direct the free lancer to so they can submit to a background check and then a report is sent to me? 

Any other ideas on how to safeguard this information would be useful. 

With the freelancer's permission, sure! There are plenty, the one that handled mine (paid for by the client of course) was Hireright

You are absolutely right that you should not ask the freelancer for their personal information, but also understand that a background check is not going to protect you or any 3rd party as they do not predict or certify future behaviour.

Ultimately you remain responsible for whatever happens to data you handle and pass to any freelancer.

That said, the absolute VAST majority of freelancers are here to do your jobs and earn money, and have zero interest in stuff beyond that.