9b367fed

Best Match not working properly.

I'm new to oDesk.

Today I tried to hire the best freelancer for my project.

However I couldn't because "Best Match" option doesn't work properly.

It works exactly like "Oldest Applicants".

What is this confusion?

Please help me to find a good freelancer.

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter

Michael,

Thanks for your note. We're glad you want to try out oDesk. There MANY, MANY excellent contractors here and there are many clients here who save significant amounts of time and money using this service.

But not using the "Best Match" feature. We have been talking about that here on the community forum for a long time. Nobody here has yet found it to work at all.

But there ARE ways to find good contractors, including simply posting a job description and letting them come to you. You can also use the search feature to do a search for the skills you're looking for. There are filters which will allow you to specify regional preferences, or other preferences, such as English language ability, how many hours of experience on oDesk, whether or not they have worked recently, etc.

You can post further questions in the community forum and get great advice - for free! For example, if you have a specific skill you're looking for, post a question: "What are some good ways find a person to paint a cover for my new novel?"

Another tip that many experienced clients use: Hire multiple to do the same job. Need a CSS web designer? Hire 5 people to do the same assignment. Set their maximum number of hours to 1 hour. Tell them you want to see what they can do in one hour.

Then evaluate the work and continue working with the one you like best. If you don't like any of them, rinse and wash and repeat.