cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Way To Get a Game/App Done With Limited Issues with freelancers on ODesk?

David D Member Since: Dec 1, 2014
1 of 3

Hi everyone,

I am new to Odesk but have had a nightmare at another site like this. Basically I was charged a fixed rate and was told a timeline that the game would be done. The game was done 7 months later from the timeline and It did not work.  The job costed me $5250 and had nothing to show for it.

I am now on odesk to find someone to fix my game and add additions etc.

My question here is this. How do I cover myself legally? I know I need an NDA and contract most likely. Shouldnt these freelancers provide a contract with me? Not the other way around?

Also, I called Odesk to specifically ask what is the best way to pay a freelancer and I was told through Odesk. Which is suppose to ver my butt on disputes etc. Problem is, I am hearing that does not cover my butt. The last place i used had in small print that I could only ask for a refund AFTER 30 days when most of these games/apps do not take less then 30 days to get finished. What is Odesks policy on this?

I am being told by multiple freelancers that going through odesk is WORSE then going through a normal credit card company like chase,visa etc for disputes to get the clients money back.

I am trying to not make this mistake again. I have been hearing nightmares on these type of sites. No communication, freelancers vanishing after payment AND waiting out the time peroid that they need to so they do not have to refund the money. Also, freelancers vanishing when a dispute is requested. Since they have to agree on the dispute what is stopping them from just not answering the request?

This has all happened to me on a different site like this. I am trying to not have this happen again. Any information would be great.

Community Guru
Dianne M Member Since: Jul 25, 2013
BEST ANSWER
2 of 3

Hi David,