🐈
» Forums » Clients » Best practice for building web application w/...
Page options
2aec6b7f
Community Member

Best practice for building web application w/ developers via Upwork?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Upwork and would like to see if anyone has an inside scoop on what is best practice for hiring, working with, and paying remote developers here on projects with complex specifications, such as web applications (not your ordinary kind of websites).  It's very much a from-scratch project with a decent number of features for a small/medium-sized web app. 

What I am most concerned about is quality of work, communication, timely turnarounds, team work, issuing reasonable payments, and having my expectations met.  Do you break the work up into parts or multiple projects?  Is it too demanding to request daily updates from developers if using milestone payment schedule?  Do you hire multiple developers here to collaborate on the same project or utilize code review?  Are you able to use Agile/Scrum methodology with remote developers?  And does Agile mix well with milestone payments for your developers?

I'd love to know what has worked for you.

Thanks,

Richard

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Hire an independent project manager.

Of course hire multiple developers.

For a project as complex as yours, you should probably hire about 8.

Then after your project manager has reviewed their initial work, close their contracts, except for the two or three best, who you continue working with.

If I am serious about quality, then I am only using hourly contracts for the project.

Coupled with functional testing and code review.

@Preston, thanks for your answer.  Would you hire an independent project manager on Upwork or locally?  

And if working with a fixed budget, how would you protect yourself from exceeding your budget in an hourly contract, granted the developers underestimated?

Local or remote/Upwork?