🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Big project (non-techie), but I have no i...
Page options
3be658a4
Community Member

Big project (non-techie), but I have no idea how to start... cost/time/technology

I am starting to use upwork for a very small project(s), say <$200 each.

I have a larger project that I would like to attempt (probably in the $5k-10k range, I've never attempted something like this before). I know what platform I would use (WordPress, out-of-the-box plugins, etc), but nothing beyond that - only what I want the site to contain in the end. The site involves pulling data from other sites/APIs and creating a database that would then display on this site. I am not a programmer/techie of any kind. I am wondering what advice people have on how to begin. I have a lengthy description of specifics that I am looking for, but have no idea how a freelancer would complete it: the time required, what cost, what technology would be used. In a case like this would I ask a few people for proposals (and of course pay for each person's time to create a proposal)? Any other best practice to use on how to take on a big project for a novice?

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

Norm H wrote:

I am not a programmer/techie of any kind. I am wondering what advice people have on how to begin. I have a lengthy description of specifics that I am looking for, but have no idea how a freelancer would complete it: the time required, what cost, what technology would be used. 

Any other best practice to use on how to take on a big project for a novice?

Hire a good project Manager.

re: "In a case like this would I ask a few people for proposals (and of course pay for each person's time to create a proposal)?"

No, don't do that. You already have the project description. And you are going to hire a good project manager.