🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Can I get opinions on boosted proposals?
Page options
melaniekhenson
Community Member

Can I get opinions on boosted proposals?

*Clarification*: this question is about how *clients* treat boosted proposals they receive. So I'm looking for input from the client's side of things. Thanks! 😊

Hi, clients!

I am a freelancer most of the time, and a client for things I don't feel qualified to do (like tech issues on my sites, for example).

The new "boosted proposal" system has freelancers up in arms. I see freelancers casually talking about how they buy as many as 50 or 60 or more connects for just one job. (IOW, freelancers are "buying" visibility for $9 or more, per proposal.) At this point, there are freelancers who believe they have to significantly "boost" proposals or they simply will not get hired, period.

The common belief is that clients are more likely to "see" and therefore hire freelancers who boost proposals. I want to ask other clients: do you feel this is true? Are you more likely to hire based on someone's "boosted" proposal? Or do you still go through proposals the same way you used to? Or are boosts a pain...or...what's your view? 😄

I rarely send proposals anymore. Most of my work comes from repeat/longterm clients. I'm asking so I have something solid to answer on the freelancer side of things. I'm just curious how this is working out for clients...or whether it even makes a difference.

Thanks!

21 REPLIES 21
lucioric
Community Member

Great, but when having to come again to apply to novel jobs, you can get a surprise. Now you have to spend all your connects pocket, and no single response. At least is what has happened to me. That unsertainty is pushing me off from freelancing, but, well earlier I was "pushed" to freelance by not getting any traditional job. Sometimes I don't know what is the universe pushing me to.

williamtcooper
Community Member