cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client Account Blocked "For Irregular Activity"

Danielle H Member Since: Apr 11, 2016
1 of 16

I apologize that this is lengthy, but I feel others should be aware.

I am a freelance contractor and have a pretty good profile.  I used Odesk/Upwork when I first started and don't use it too often now as most of my work comes from outside of Upwork.  

I also have a client account which I basically use randomly and whenever I need some help with something.  I might post for personal things or even on occassion when I need some bookkeeping help.  

On Thursday, my daughter who is 21, was in need of some extra cash.  Does she really like working for her mother? no.  But I have a number of odds and ends that she can do for me.  Calling on appointments, organizing and filing documents, running a couple errands.  I decided to hire her on Upwork so that she could get direct deposit and have some consistent income weekly.  

She worked one day for me.  I am not even sure of how long.  By Saturday morning I received a message from Upwork stating that they found some irregular activity on my contract with X (my daughter) and that some features were placed on hold while they investigated.   They wanted to know the nature of the work completed including screenshots and how I was communicating with her. 

This hold prevented my other contractor from working as well.

My response to them was I wanted to know: 1. An explanation of what appears to be irregular? 2. Why the nature of the work completed is any of their business and 3. Why how I communicate with her is relevant.