957c0c26

Client ID verification issues: Things to know

I am new to Upwork. My first week was extremely positive in regards to freelancer performance and Upwork customer service. But a week ago today my account was suspended, for allegedly being linked to the accounts of those whom I hired. I was asked to provide documentation to verify my identity. Here are things that I have learned over the last week of repeated denials and resubmissions for verification.

1) Your name on your Upwork profile must match exactly the name on your documentation. If you tried to use initials or nicknames, you need to request that your official profile name be updated to reflect your legal name or your request for verification will be denied. Upwork, please add a statement at the time of registration that says something to the effect of, "Use your legal name here as it appears on official documentation, which you may be requested to submit at a later time."

2) Your documents must not appear to be black and white photocopies of documents. If your bank statement issuer mails you a black and white statement, this will not be enough. You are not allowed to alter the color of your documentation, so if your statement issuer mails your statements in black and white, you must find a different statement to use, or your verification request will be denied. Upwork, please make it clear that you will not accept documentation that uses gray-scale colors, which can be taken for altering the colors or scanning only in black-and-white. Please make it clear that the documents MUST be in color, if that is your actual policy.

3) PDFs are not accepted. If your scanner produces PDFs by default, so either change that setting or create a JPEG prior to attempting to submit your documents.