🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Client insists on video call/phone call i...
Page options
e3be2774
Community Member

Client insists on video call/phone call is bad?!?

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this platform. Actually, my friend who works here told me that this is one of the biggest platforms that enables me to hire freelancers for my work.
But there is one thing I don't understand. Is it gonna make me look suspicious if I (the client) insist on using video call to interview my freelancer AGAINST HIS/HER WILL?
Since my friend got into that situation, he applied for a job and the client contacted him immediately. After hours (literally) of interviewing via Upwork chat, the client suggested that he wanted to "connect the freelancer to his colleagues" via Skype. My friend said that he had a poor internet connection and unable to call, he'd rather using Upwork chat section instead, hence the job description didn't mention anything about video call/phone call (the job itself doesn't have anything to do with calling). But the client insisted on calling him, against his will.

I ask this because I want to know, since the works I want to post doesn't related to "interviewing via phone calls/Skype calls" but I like to interview my freelancers via these means. Will I get suspended?
6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

As a client, you may require freelancers to do Skype calls or Skype interviews.

There is no way for you to be suspended for that.

Preston H wrote:

As a client, you may require freelancers to do Skype calls or Skype interviews.

There is no way for you to be suspended for that.

I would just add: if you require a Skype call, please say so in your job description, so freelancers who don't want to Skype won't waste their time and yours in applying for the job.