Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clients vs Freelancers

richard_toland
Community Leader
Richard T Member Since: May 26, 2016
1 of 19

My name is Richard Toland. I was a 5 star rated freelancer on Elance for years prior to them becoming Upwork. Currently, on Upwork… I have a 100% satisfaction rating, nothing in my feedback on my profile below 5 stars, a full portfolio (half of which have won awards), multiple test scores that place me in the top 10% to 20% of all freelancers worldwide on Upwork, and an “elite” member of the Upwork Enterprise Bench. For those of you who are not aware of what that is, you can’t buy your way onto the Enterprise Bench. It’s by invite only. You have to be that good and have a profile as strong as mine to even be considered. I have that badge on my profile.

I am a graphic designer by trade. I am fully degreed as a designer. I have over 15 years of experience, half of which was at ETS (yup, those **bleep** SATs and GREs everyone takes to get into college) as one of their Lead Graphic Artists. I also did some time at Trilyn… another full blown corporate professional production department.
In short, with all due humility… I am that good. I know that sounds arrogant, but I am last person that would ever brag. I just like making my clients happy and the only reason I point all of this out is so you know where this is coming from.

I came up with a list of things that I hope would be an “olive branch” between clients and us freelancers. By no means do I think this is the end all of all lists, but at least hopefully it’s a start. As a freelancer myself, these are the biggest problems I see…

1. The fees – lol… No, it’s not. Sorry I had to include that. Just couldn’t help myself.