cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contractor wants to switch to an hourly rate

Chris D Member Since: May 25, 2017
1 of 6

I have been working with a contractor on a project now for a few months and in the main their progress has been OK.  I have created a number fo short milestones and paid when complete.  The contractor now wants to switch to an hourly contract as apparently they want to build their 'reputation' in upwork.  While their hourly rate is fairly low I am worried that this would leave me open to them billing foer hours not authorised.  It is easy to create a milestone and say 'here's $1500 when you complete this' but more difficult if they just bill hours.  Do they always need a milestone they can bill against?  This is not continual development - I have an App, it's developed but I will still need occasional changes and additions.  I don't however need them full time.

The contractor is pushing for this change but I'm not sure it suits how the project should progress...

Community Guru
Samantha S Member Since: Jun 23, 2016
2 of 6

You can limit the number of hours logged per week. That is probably the safest way to protect your budget. Since you worked with the freelancer in the past, I would hope that he/she doesn't just log unauthorized hours. I believe you can always authorize more if the changes you need require more hours that week. Also, you have a window of time to look at the freelancer's work diary each week to ensure all the work is on your project. If not, you can dispute those hours. If you feel the freelancer is doing unnecessary work just to log hours, talk to him/her and maybe reconsider the contract if that is the case.