🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Copyright and content ownership
Page options
0048e18c
Community Member

Copyright and content ownership

Hello,

I'd appreciate any guidance to ensure both myself and my team use Upwork appropriately.  We're a small local business and have used Upwork successfully for a couple of small design items.  A great first experience.  However, I'm now considering hiring someone (and have actually posted the job) to help me conceptualize a brick and mortar business concept.  I'll need help in areas such as logo / identity as well as storefront design.  In short, I'm a busy business owner and do not want to make a mistep with ownership issues.  I obviously understand the payment part.  The client needs to pay.  But I want to make sure there's nothing more complicated than that.  Completely separate from Upwork, I learned a lesson in that regard when I bought a photo session for some friends who had just had a new baby.  I paid for the session and then they learned that every picture was a charge and their newborn was on the webpage of the photographer's site.  I respect people's work, but don't want to ever assume anything again, so any help here appreciated!  

67 REPLIES 67
prestonhunter
Community Member

This is not a photography studio.

On Upwork, whoever pays owns all the rights. It IS very simple.

Default rules specified by Upwork declare this. Only if the client and freelancer agree to a separate contract is there any difference.

I appreciate the info.  I only used the story to illustrate the point.  Hope it was taken that way.

Preston where can I get the copyright polcy for my specific work that I paid for on UpWork?

re: "where can I get the copyright policy for my specific work that I paid for on Upwork?"

https://www.upwork.com/legal#optional-service-contract-terms

This has the salient information, including this paragraph:

Screen Shot 2020-12-04 at 10.15.52 AM.png

kat303
Community Member