🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Copyright and content ownership
Page options
0048e18c
Community Member

Copyright and content ownership

Hello,

I'd appreciate any guidance to ensure both myself and my team use Upwork appropriately.  We're a small local business and have used Upwork successfully for a couple of small design items.  A great first experience.  However, I'm now considering hiring someone (and have actually posted the job) to help me conceptualize a brick and mortar business concept.  I'll need help in areas such as logo / identity as well as storefront design.  In short, I'm a busy business owner and do not want to make a mistep with ownership issues.  I obviously understand the payment part.  The client needs to pay.  But I want to make sure there's nothing more complicated than that.  Completely separate from Upwork, I learned a lesson in that regard when I bought a photo session for some friends who had just had a new baby.  I paid for the session and then they learned that every picture was a charge and their newborn was on the webpage of the photographer's site.  I respect people's work, but don't want to ever assume anything again, so any help here appreciated!  

67 REPLIES 67

I’m not sure if I read that response correctly, but, no the client doesn’t
own anything unless the creative exclusively said you do in the agreement.
This is to protect the creator of their hard earned work and not the
client.

However, UpWork and sites like them; sucker freelancers into the game to be
controlled by the buyers. This makes money for UpWork. It’s just a rat race
to the bottom unfortunately.

Again, still how the contract is agreed on in the beginning of the project.
Say for instance, in your example it’s a product designed to be sold, I
would probably do one of two things in the contract: charge a flat rate
that includes royalities % after so many sales or charge a much higher rate
and sell all usage rights to the client. An then there is also exclusive