Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Declined Invitations

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Marissa A Member Since: Apr 29, 2015
1 of 69

Hello,

For some time now every time an invited freelancer declines the invitation I just get a simple message saying that it was declined. As I am also a freelancer, I know that you have to provide a reason to decline the invitation and this would be very helpful for clients to know. Sometimes they are just busy and I'd like to know if it would be alright to contact them again in the future. Sometimes the budget is too low, and if I can't offer more then I know I can't contact them again, but if I can offer more if the freelancer is really experienced, I would like to still contact them and ask them for a quote or consider them in the future.

Before they changed again the platform, I could at least go to the freelancers invitation (aftr following a series a steps) and find out what option they had chosen. But with the new platform this is impossible. I only get the message that the freelancer declined the interview.

Marissa

Highlighted
Community Guru
Chris M Member Since: May 6, 2015
2 of 69

Hi Marissa,

Your post is very interesting...

I'm a freelancer - when I decline I always tick a reason and include a small message, - I expect the Client might read it.

Are you saying that Clients don't have the facility to read my explanations?

Can a moderator advise on this please.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Lisa W Member Since: Nov 14, 2015
3 of 69

If I remember correctly, there's a little message from Upwork that says something along the lines of 'We will politely let the client know you've declined the application.'

On recent invites I've gone into more detail about why I'm declining, which isn't always kind to the client. My message is more to Upwork - as in, stop allowing clients to post these jobs/not provide adequate information/post in the wrong section/ask for free work/etc.