Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Declined Invitations

Highlighted
Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
31 of 69

It might not change it any more then - but even that message is unwarranted interference IMO. I even get that if I accept a couple of contracts at the same time. I wish they'd just let us get on with it. 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
32 of 69

@David G wrote:

I checked the "too busy" option a few days ago. The system didn't change my availability but it did show a pop-up message saying that if I'm too busy, I should change my availability setting.

This happened to me too back when I was a weee Upwork noob. On Elance, I don't think it mattered. When I got the popup, I thought "oooh, I think this was a mistake." lol So I don't choose that option anymore. 

Highlighted
Melissa J Member Since: Feb 22, 2016
33 of 69

As a freelancer, I never assumed that the message involved was for the client; after all, there is that saying: "Assuming just makes an - out of ...". You get the picture.

I, however, was always curious where my message was going, to whom the message relayed to, and whether or not this would affect my status or availability in some way.

Maybe it's 'Freelancer Paranoia' as I've seen a few threads discussing clients having too much control over the platform and the functionalities of each contract. 

If Upwork is using these messages and our chosen options as a means to dictate our availability (Option: "too busy"), determine our preferred job rates (Option: "Budget too low"); I'd like to know about it, I'd like to, at least, have them acknowledge their use of these algorithms, because our profiles and success as freelancers, highly depend on it.