cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developer keeps logging several hours, but tracker only shows mouse, but 0 keyboard clicks?!

Sly F Member Since: May 7, 2015
1 of 7

Hi Upwork community - I recently hired a new developer and noticed that the developer has logged almost 13 hours of work, but each time tracker snapshot only shows mouse clicks and little to know key board strokes. How is this possible? I don't want to be accusatory, but I am pressed to see how a developer that is supposed to be writing / updating code can log several hours with little to no keyboard activity only mouse activity.

I thought I should pose this question to the community to see if there is something I am missing? 

Thanks!

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 7

You're asking an excellent question.

I'm a developer, and my work involves a LOT of typing.

But not all developers use the same techniques that I do.

Ultimately, what is important to you is not how many key strokes versus how many mouse clicks you see in a work diary... what is important is the results you get from this developer.

When your project manager compares the work that he turns in versus the work other developers on your team are turning in, how does this mouse-clicking developer compare?

Is he more productive?

Does the project manager say that his code is clean and maintainable?

When you test the modules he completes, do they perform as expected?

Is the resulting application responsive and bug free?

If he can do these things with more mouse clicks than typing, I wouldn't worry about his work diaries.

If the freelancer isn't highly productive or doesn't seem to be providing you with good value compared to the other team members, then end the contract with him, regardless of what his work diary shows.

Sly F Member Since: May 7, 2015
3 of 7

Hi Preston -