Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Don't pay double the budget

Highlighted
Community Leader
André U Member Since: Dec 5, 2013
1 of 11
Dear clients I am a contractor and I have seen many times that I got paid twice for hourly contracts since you, the clients, are not aware of how the system actually works. If you agree on an hourly contract, your contractor will be paid automatically according to the time tracked. Let's say I work for 16$/h and I tracked 2h. At the end of the week, 32$ will be subtracted from the payment method you've provided. You do not need to pay anything manually (except you wish to pay a bonus of course). I have already saved the following message as a template because there are so many clients who pay me twice. Is it so confusing? "Hi *** I have just noticed that you have paid me a bonus of 31.50$. Although I am happy to see extra money, I am not quite sure if this was intended. For clarification: I have tracked 2h last week and you have paid me already 32.06$ automatically via the contract. This happens automatically for hourly contracts. You did not need to pay me manually. In other words: You have paid me twice (1x automatically and 1x just now). If you wish, I can return you the money via PayPal. I do not want to return money on oDesk because it is considered to be "bad behaviour" and my ranking on oDesk would suffer. That is why I suggest PayPal. Let me know how we can handle this situation. I could have told you nothing, but I prefer to be honest since your budget was rather tight and you're a nice client to work for. Greetings, André"
Highlighted
Community Guru
Reynaldo M Member Since: Aug 4, 2012
2 of 11
And this is how a Professional Freelancer should act.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
3 of 11
This has not happened to me even once. Where are all these clients who don't understand how the hourly payment system works coming from?
Highlighted
Community Guru