cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Size Too Small on Finished Artwork

Gold K Member Since: May 17, 2011
1 of 11

I hired a provider to create custom artwork for a 10'x14' wall mural.  I specified the size before he started.  After he submitted a proof of his work.  I released payment requested the files.  He sent a image that is barely large enough for an 8"x10"   How am I protected in a case like this?

Ace Contributor
Filip S Member Since: Jun 22, 2015
2 of 11

This might be a communication error, did you specify the DPI?
10'x14' means very little without a set DPI, the difference between 72 dpi and 300 dpi is huge.
Unless you specified what resolution you want the end product to be, I'm afraid it's your mistake and not the freelancers (although he probably should have asked)

3 of 11

Thanks.  i am a graphics designer myself so I am familiar with dpi.  The file he sent is 72 dpi and about 8"x10".  No way it can be used as a 10'x14' wall mural which I specified in the job description and  several messages

Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
4 of 11

Hi Gold,

Please speak with your freelancer directly, check if your original agreement included this requirement and discuss possibly making changes to the image you received. Going forward, make sure to review the work before releasing the payment.

5 of 11

Thanks.  I have contacted the provider and got no response.  I did review the proofs.  He would not send the final files until the payment was released.  After I released payment he sent the tiny file.

Community Guru
Bojana D Member Since: May 2, 2011
6 of 11