cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Freelance made a mess of cover letter and resume

Lynda N Member Since: Feb 11, 2019
1 of 11

This is my first time on Upwork. I hired a freelancer to edit my cover letter and resume and she made a mess of it. I only needed a couple sentences in my cover letter and my resume proofread. I don't know how to fix the formatting, the titles and descriptions of my professional experience are split between pages, the work dates are not lined up....it's a mess and I don't know what to do. When I posted the job I needed done, I included my resume, cover letter, job description, what I needed done, and that I needed it by today - I found a job posting yesterday (I'm looking for a new job), I had been working on my cover letter and resume but was getting frustrated. I remembered hearing about upwork so thought I 'd give it a shot. I emailed the freelancer back twice today while I was at work but have not heard back. The job posting closes tonight and I'm in tears. The money is sitting in escrow and I don't know what to do. If I choose to pay a different amount, do I get the rest of my money back? I would attach everything but I don't want my boss to happen upon this conversation. Some guidance would be very much appreciated. 

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 11

re: "I don't know what to do."

This is very simple.

Do not work with this particular freelancer again.

What you asked for is beyond her capabilities.

In the future, if you have a deadline, then is important to not hire only one freelancer who you have never worked with before.

Should have hired four different people.

Highlighted
3 of 11
she sent a link to her webpage, she does marketing, etc. all i asked for
was a few sentences in a cover letter.
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
4 of 11