🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Freelance made a mess of cover letter and...
Page options
lynda-n
Community Member

Freelance made a mess of cover letter and resume

This is my first time on Upwork. I hired a freelancer to edit my cover letter and resume and she made a mess of it. I only needed a couple sentences in my cover letter and my resume proofread. I don't know how to fix the formatting, the titles and descriptions of my professional experience are split between pages, the work dates are not lined up....it's a mess and I don't know what to do. When I posted the job I needed done, I included my resume, cover letter, job description, what I needed done, and that I needed it by today - I found a job posting yesterday (I'm looking for a new job), I had been working on my cover letter and resume but was getting frustrated. I remembered hearing about upwork so thought I 'd give it a shot. I emailed the freelancer back twice today while I was at work but have not heard back. The job posting closes tonight and I'm in tears. The money is sitting in escrow and I don't know what to do. If I choose to pay a different amount, do I get the rest of my money back? I would attach everything but I don't want my boss to happen upon this conversation. Some guidance would be very much appreciated. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
vsalinitro
Community Member

Fire the freelancer, create a new post and specify that you need everything ready in 1-2 hours, raise the amount of money and pick a freelancer with good reviews and a good job score.

once this is done deal with the refund.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I don't know what to do."

This is very simple.

Do not work with this particular freelancer again.

What you asked for is beyond her capabilities.

In the future, if you have a deadline, then is important to not hire only one freelancer who you have never worked with before.

Should have hired four different people.