🐈
» Forums » Clients » Freelancer Requesting Personal Information - ...
Page options
c90bbb86
Community Member

Freelancer Requesting Personal Information - Tax Prep

G'day, UpWork, 

I'm new to the platform as a business owner; however, I understand the basics and have used similar platforms (i.e. Fiverr) for hire in the past. I'm confident that my question has obvious implications, but I cannot help but feel the need to seek your advice. 

As a new business owner, I am currently considering hiring a freelancer to assist in preparing a couple of our tax documents. At this point, I have identified a freelancer who is willing to prepare these documents at a price that I am comfortable with; however, it didn't hit me until the freelancer requested personal information that I could be exposing our business and ourselves to undue risk. Obviously, the freelancer needs our financial documents and our personal information to prepare the documents, but should I share this information with a freelancer who hasn't completed many jobs? The freelancer is asking for our EIN and social security numbers. I should also mention that the freelancer stated early in our conversation that we should move off the platform as it would be "easier." I made it clear that I was uncomfortable with that, and the freelancer stated he we could continue using UpWork. 

Can I please get some feedback here? Are there any safeguards for sharing personally identifiable information or am I simply taking a huge risk? 

Thank you in advance!

-Dusty

3 REPLIES 3
lysis10
Community Member

Dusty B wrote:

G'day, UpWork, 

I'm new to the platform as a business owner; however, I understand the basics and have used similar platforms (i.e. Fiverr) for hire in the past. I'm confident that my question has obvious implications, but I cannot help but feel the need to seek your advice.