🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Freelancer Unable to Perform Coding Requi...
Page options
d81211b0
Community Member

Freelancer Unable to Perform Coding Required - Dispute?

This is my first time using UpWork and I posted a job to have a code developed which contained specific details and requirements.  The Freelancer I hired had a high rating (+85%), and was confident that he had the experience to complete the task.  A deadline was set for 1 week.  After 9 days, I received the code, however it did not function properly (not even close to the original request).  I discussed with the freelancer, and he did mention he was having a few issues.  The freelancer suggested I pay an additional amount, in order to create a second code, which would provide a visual representation for the original code requests.  This would benefited both of us, as I would be able to monitor "alerts" created by the first code visually, and it would assist the freelancer with the programming of the first code.  After two weeks, I received the second code, however it does not work properly either.  It has now been over a month of back and forth troubleshooting, and we are still relatively at the same place as when the original code was created.  It is obvious that the freelancer does not have the required skills to complete the job.  I think it's possible that because the jobs were at a fixed price, and the freelancer is struggling, that they may have lost the ambition/desire to either complete the task, or agree to move on from the project.  As this job was based on a fixed-price, and the funds are currently in escrow, what options do I have?   I would just like to get the code I originally requested built. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "I have no options with this platform, other than to walk away with a $420 loss (which really bothers me!)."

That is the fastest option.

I'm not sure why you think that is your ONLY option.