cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Freelancer asking for more money to refactor their own bad code

a49f7ac1
Victor T Member Since: Dec 7, 2020
1 of 11

I have been working with a freelancer since November 2020 – and already paid them $3,350 and the current contract is worth $918. The work is not going as planned - they coded a module incorrectly and asking for more money to refactor the code.  The instructions were clear and no changes in requirements from me. They basically implemented an API incorrectly - created a throttling issue.

Without refactoring the code – the project is as good as dead. What should I do – please advise.

Thank you

a_lipsey
Community Guru
Amanda L Member Since: Jan 23, 2018
2 of 11

Victor T wrote:

I have been working with a freelancer since November 2020 – and already paid them $3,350 and the current contract is worth $918. The work is not going as planned - they coded a module incorrectly and asking for more money to refactor the code.  The instructions were clear and no changes in requirements from me. They basically implemented an API incorrectly - created a throttling issue.

Without refactoring the code – the project is as good as dead. What should I do – please advise.

Thank you

If this is fixed price then I would explain to the freelancer that they have not delivered an appropriate deliverable yet, and the agreed upon price for the module was $918.  If they disagree then I would request a refund of the funds in escrow, close the contract and find someone else to do the module. If they disagree then I would dispute it, go to arbitration if necessary. But first you need to negotiate with the freelancer and see why they are asking for more money when they have not delivered the agreed upon deliverable yet. 

a49f7ac1
3 of 11