🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Freelancer misrepresenting their skill le...
Page options
e51e80ad
Community Member

Freelancer misrepresenting their skill level

I'm kind of in a pickle right now, and I'm not sure how to move forward.

I'm a client and have been for over five years here on Upwork. I've had lots of successful projects and have always trusted Upwork.

I recently went through a pretty rigorous hiring process for a project (a motion graphics explainer video.) I received nearly a hundred proposals, read through and examined them all, and whittled my way down to the person I decided on. Their portfolio was incredible and I was excited to work with them. We exchanged many messages, storyboards, mood boards, and examples, and the freelancer assured me they understood everything and would be able to deliver the entire video within 5 business days. Weeks went by, and he gave reasons why it wasn't done yet. I'm a freelance animator myself, so I totally get it, and wanted to be flexible, so I was.

Then, today, he sent me a rough draft of the first animation slide (there are ~30 slides total,) and it wasn't even in the same universe, when it comes to quality, as his work that he shared in his "portfolio". Like I said, I'm a freelancer as well myself, and it was obvious this guy didn't create the work in his alleged portfolio. I was confused though, because his ratings were good, and he had an 80% job success rating for his past work – much of which was animated explainer videos.

I confronted him about it and asked directly, and he said it would be fixed. He also admitted to having an illustrator and animator working under him, so I guess he's a mock agency or something? I totally get sub-contracting, I do it myself sometimes, and am fine with it, but I feel like he just pulled those videos in his portfolio from somewhere else to attract clients like me.