🐈
» Forums » Clients » Freelancer wanting to hire on different accou...
Page options
1468cf24
Community Member

Freelancer wanting to hire on different account...?

It's my first time hiring on upwork. 

And I'm currently working with a guy that made the effort to jump on a call before accepting the work, figured out what we needed, etc. Everything felt really good.

Until he asked me send the work to another profile affiliated with the same organization/company with the reasoning that "I have 11 in-progress jobs on this account." Sort of makes sense... I guess? 

I wouldn't mind it too much if he/they didn't also request a down payment/upfront payment. It wouldn't be a big deal if it was on the original account but how do I know what's going on on the other end of this other profile? 

Any thoughts/opinions? 

4 REPLIES 4
petra_r
Community Member

@Hao T wrote:

It's my first time hiring on upwork. 

And I'm currently working with a guy that made the effort to jump on a call before accepting the work, figured out what we needed, etc. Everything felt really good.

Until he asked me send the work to another profile affiliated with the same organization/company with the reasoning that "I have 11 in-progress jobs on this account." Sort of makes sense... I guess? 

I wouldn't mind it too much if he/they didn't also request a down payment/upfront payment. It wouldn't be a big deal if it was on the original account but how do I know what's going on on the other end of this other profile? 

Any thoughts/opinions? 

The freelancer is categorically not allowed to have more than one account so that's a violation right out of the gate.

I'd also never pay anything up front, this is not necessary with the Escrow system and if the freelancer withdraws the money and runs there is nothing anyone can do.

g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Hao,