cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ghosting Freelancer

M J Member Since: Apr 7, 2016
1 of 12

I am new to Upwork, and just recently had an encounter with a freelancer who had glowing reviews and had made a proposal for a project I invited him to.

First, he wanted to communicate via Skype, and so we complied with him on this, even though he said that he had no objections to messaging via Upwork. But during an interview via Skype with the original developer of our site, he just disappeared from the conversation, and subquent efforts to contact him via Skype and Upwork have been unsuccessful.

I think it's important to be able to create an alert on Upwork for someone like this. Is there a way to? I can't find any.

Community Guru
Katrina B Member Since: Jan 9, 2011
2 of 12

@M J wrote:

I am new to Upwork, and just recently had an encounter with a freelancer who had glowing reviews and had made a proposal for a project I invited him to.

First, he wanted to communicate via Skype, and so we complied with him on this, even though he said that he had no objections to messaging via Upwork. But during an interview via Skype with the original developer of our site, he just disappeared from the conversation, and subquent efforts to contact him via Skype and Upwork have been unsuccessful.

I think it's important to be able to create an alert on Upwork for someone like this. Is there a way to? I can't find any.

I think you can decline thier bid and will be a place where you can check maybe unresponsive or something like that or even maybe an "other" and be able to write it in. Other than that, that is the only way.  Just consider yourself lucky, at least it was during the interview stage that they disappeared and not halfway through your project!!!!  Good Luck.  

"Fairness is giving all people the treatment they earn and deserve. It doesn't mean treating everyone alike-Coach John Wooden"
3 of 12

Thanks!

Community Guru