🐈
» Forums » Clients » Help Disputing Hours
Page options
0382c5c9
Community Member

Help Disputing Hours

Hi,  I have hired someone on upwork for the first time to help with a bubble.io app design and set up.  Over 2 weeks he has claimed to have works 100 hours, however the only thing that has been completed is the input of an airtable api information, and he drew out 1 form (very poorly done).  I have continued to ask him for a break down of his hours and he just keep sending me a list of things he has accomplished.

When I ask him for more information on where these accomplishments have been done he won't give me any information, and from my end there is no work showing to have been done.  It is becoming more and more obvious that he has no clue how to use the bubble.io platform.

I need a refund and the "get help" button is not showing on, it's my first time using upwork and it seems they basically don't want you to be able to get in touch with them.

9 REPLIES 9
prestonhunter
Community Member

Jessica:
Thank you for sharing your description of your recent experiences hiring on Upwork.

With regards to your CURRENT situation:

When you hire a freelancer using an hourly contract, you have FIVE DAYS during which you may dispute time logged.

Five days after the work week ends. The work week ends at midnight GMT on Sunday.

During that five-day period, you may dispute individual time segments if those time segments do not meet the criteria for Upwork Payment Protection. Basically: If time segments were recorded MANUALLY, Upwork will automatically remove those time segments from the time that you need to pay for.

Or if the time segments do NOT have memos, or have very low mouse/keyboard activity, or have screenshots that show the freelancer wasn't working on the client's project, then Upwork personnel will automatically remove those from what you need to pay for (if you dispute those time segments).

But you need to do this within the review period.