🐈
» Forums » Clients » Hiring a illustrator
Page options
06d5bfd2
Community Member

Hiring a illustrator

Hi I'm new to Upwork. I've got a task of design of 1,000 images for £400. £400 is all we have for the designs so that's why I figured I'd pay that on completion of the work. I have asked for a sample of work from an illustrator and I am pleased with the one design sample they created. What do I do next. Do I interview? Do I ask for more samples? Or do I hire? I can't really keep asking for more samples, but it would be nice to know that they'll do the work well once I hire them.

Any advice would be appreciated. 

9 REPLIES 9
petra_r
Community Member

Da B:wrote:

Hi I'm new to Upwork. I've got a task of design of 1,000 images for £400.

You want to pay $ 0.40 for per custom created design?

Da B wrote: I am pleased with the one design sample they created. What do I do next. Do I interview? Do I ask for more samples? Or do I hire? I can't really keep asking for more samples, but it would be nice to know that they'll do the work well once I hire them. 

You can't actually ask a freelancer to create any free samples at all, that would be a violation of Upwork's terms of service- If you are happy with the choice, hire the freelancer (if you find someone who is willing to work at your price)

prestonhunter
Community Member

Da B:
I have hired dozens of artists on Upwork. I really love using Upwork as a place to commission original artwork. I have been able to get amazing results. I'm very pleased with the work done by nearly all of the artists I have hired.

You do NOT need to do what I do. But here is what I do:

I don't interview artists.

I don't ask for samples.

When I post job postings, I BLOCK the "cover letter" feature. Because I have no intention of reading whatever an artist posts there.

I will typically ask one question such as "Do you understand the job posting?" or "Are you able to start work on this project now?"