🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Hiring freelancer for a test project
Page options
4c186c5a
Community Member

Hiring freelancer for a test project

Hello there,

I'm new to Upwork and this is my first time hiring freelancers for my writing project. 

I set up a job posting for a fixed rate project for a 7 book series (that would pay a fixed rate for the completion of all the books). However, I found a freelancer that I has agreed to do a trial run by only writing the 1st book in the series to see if his work meets my expectations. I'm not sure if I need to set up a new job for this since it will be a different fixed rate than the whole series, OR if I just need to set up the first book as the only milestone for the project with the appropriate fixed pay for that book?  The second way would be easier, but if I end up using not using this same freelancer for the rest of the project, would I just end the contract after paying him for the first milestone (completion of first book)? Thank you for your help with this!

8 REPLIES 8
colettelewis
Community Member

You don't have to create a new job for this. If you have found your freelancer for the first book, then all you need do is set up the contract and fund the milestone for the first book. If you don't continue with the freelancer, then you pay him or her, and close the contract and start again. If you continue with the freelancer, then all you do is to fund the next milestone. It would probably be better to fund a milestone for each book and to pay on delivery. 

ETA: Once the freelancer has sent you the work and pressed the submit button, you have 14 days in which to review the work and to ask for changes if needed. 

Excellent advice from Nichola.

I would add:
If you fund additional milestones, or if you close a fixed-price contract and create a NEW fixed-price contract... the cost is the same.