cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hour requirements

Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
1 of 11

I am a contractor but I feel I need to address a point here helpfully for as many clients to read it and consider it.

Elance (a freelaning site) was acquired by Upwork. The majority of contractors there perfer to work on fixed rate jobs. Since migrating/merging/transfering our accounts to this site because of the eventuful closing down of Elance, we are being unfairly taken advantage of. Upwork caters to contractors who work hourly jobs. It takes no consideration to contractors who work fixed rate and may have not only more experience and skills, but hours accumulated in fixed rate jobs.

There is a feature for clients that they can use that allows them to post as a requirement for consideration - Must have X amount of hours.

Please, do not use that option. You are limiting yourselves and passing up contractors who have the knowledge, education, skills and qualifications to complete your job. Please take into consideration the contractors who have worked fixed rate jobs.

When a contractor who may have worked 100 FIXED rate jobs applies to a posting with that requirement, the client gets a message that says this proposal does not fit the requirement. It also takes away the proposal area so contractors must enter their proposal in the questions areas.

Clients - If you get proposals with that message (contractor does not meet requirement) AND you have used that option, take the time out to read that proposal, (as stupid as it may look with the proposals in the questions area) and take into consideration the number of FIXED rate jobs that they've done, the feedback/reviews, their skills and qualifications. Better yet, do NOT use that option at all. You'll be presently surprised at the quality of contractors that apply.

Community Guru
Scott E Member Since: Jul 26, 2015
2 of 11