cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Do You Describe Jobs?

Community Leader
Allen W Member Since: Oct 7, 2017
1 of 11

Hey all, I am a freelancer, but I wanted to ask clients a question. I often come across very vague job posting. Here is an example that I am making up, but is similar to what I come across:

"Need a proofreader for my college application and CV. This job was uploaded from a mobile app, please excuse any errors." 

Often, there is no budget attached. I have no idea how many words need to be edited. There is nothing here that explains what I am getting into.

Why on earth would I waste connects to apply for something like this? Listen, you want freelancers to create good proposals so you can make an informed choice about who to hire for your job. Well, for those of you who post jobs like this, respect the freelancers enough to give more information in the initial job posting. You cannot really expect quality freelancers to apply for something like this.

I know this does not include most clients. Most of the proposals have more detail. For those who do post like this, please consider adding more to your description. 

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Joseph R Member Since: Aug 5, 2015
2 of 11

I was thinking about posting something here about the issue as well.

The number of vague, 'mobile' postings has been growing quite a bit over the last month or two. You are right about the need for more information with regards to jobs. A single line with no embellishment is not worth wasting connects on. Not only does one not know what the job is really about, but the client often does not have a verified payment and (of course) no history. It is a huge waste of time and I have all but stopped replying to these adverts.