cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How soon should I contact Freelancer?

Nathan B Member Since: Mar 25, 2017
1 of 10

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork and hiring freelancers in general. I hired my very first on Thursday for some editing in which 7 days was the agreed timeframe for the first milestone. I paid to the escrow (debited from my banking account now on hold with Upwork until I hit pay I imagine).

My question is, how soon should I communicate with the freelancer performing the work? It's been 3 days on a 7 day project. I'm anxious and nervous due to many factors that could cause a job to go wrong i.e. - freelancer decided to not complete the task, freelancer is a scammer, etc.

I don't want to pester or be an annoyance, but at the same time I'd like to know as soon as possible if I need to cancel and look for someone else.

Any suggestions? 

Community Guru
Janean L Member Since: Apr 6, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 10

You're the client. You're paying. You have great latitude.

In any case, it's not at all unreasonable to check in at day #3 of a 7-day job. I would do it. It's not "pestering." It's good communications.

3 of 10

Thanks!

Message sent, now I anxiously await a response lol.

I am putting faith in the system Smiley Happy

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 10

Nathan, if you have a critical deadline by which you need certain work done, then you can't just hire one freelancer who you have never worked with before.

You need to work only with freelancers who you have worked with before and know how likely they are to turn in work by the deadline, and you also know that the work they provide is what you need.

Or you need to hire multiple freelancers to do the same work.

Or you need to be relaxed about your deadline.

5 of 10

Thanks Preston,

I sent the message and got a reply, she was very thankful for the deadline set which allowed her to get other work done in the meantime.