cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to file a freelancer complaint?

Highlighted
Michelle G Member Since: Aug 8, 2018
1 of 14

Hello, I am relatively new to UpWork and have already had a freelancer request double the contracted amount or refuse to proceed with the contract.  He would not negotiate in any way except to receive double the payment for the remaining two milestones. How do I file a complaint to UpWork about this freelancer? Thank you! 

Highlighted
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
2 of 14

Hi Michelle

I'm sorry about your experience with this freelancer. One of our team members will reach out to you directly and review your complaint and advise you about the options you have!

~ Bojan
Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 14

re: "...have already had a freelancer request double the contracted amount or refuse to proceed with the contract.  He would not negotiate in any way except to receive double the payment for the remaining two milestones. How do I file a complaint to UpWork about this freelancer?"

Michelle:

I am glad Bojan has offered Upwork's assistance in this matter.

But I'm not sure you need it.

From what you described, this freelancer is behaving in an unprofessional manner. It sounds like you already know you should stop working with him.

If he completed milestone 1 and delivered the work to you, and now wants to re-negotiate terms mid-stream - asking for double the payment... Why don't you simply tell him no and close the contract?

If you have not funded the remaining two milestones, then there should be no money on the line, and you can close the contract on your own. You don't need anybody's permission to do that.

If you have already funded the second milestone, and then the freelancer started behaving this way, then you could tell him "no, thank you," and you can use the client-side interface to request a full refund.