🐈
» Forums » Clients » I client does not pay may I delete my work pr...
Page options
mydowgirl
Community Member

I client does not pay may I delete my work product?

I recently cancelled a contract when the client refused to actually review the web site I created for her. Instead I had over 4 1/2 hours of her spinning out her dreams. I have been a freelancer since 2008 on this platform and occasionally this does happen. I eat my costs and the client finds someone better suited. 

Even though I didn't want to get paid and had used the time tracer, apparently I lacked sufficient notes.  Okay, live and learn.

In these situations, who owns the work product? I am not getting paid for 2 premium WordPress plugins and I think I was okay with that, I always want clients to be successful. In this case the client obviously had her site. But what about the work product, when there is a cancellation of the contract, before any payment has been made. And how was she even able to file a dispute?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

@Kim K wrote:

In these situations, who owns the work product? I am not getting paid for 2 premium WordPress plugins and I think I was okay with that, I always want clients to be successful. In this case the client obviously had her site. But what about the work product, when there is a cancellation of the contract, before any payment has been made. And how was she even able to file a dispute?

If it was an hourly contract the client must either have disputed after being charged on Monday, or failed to pay Upwork. The hours from any hourly contract are charged on the Monday after the end of the work week, and the client has until Friday midnight to dispute.

The work product belongs to you if you were not paid.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

@Kim K wrote: