I have left the new Upwork chat room several times, but it keeps re-adding me.
I appreciate and pay attention to the red flag that tells me one of my freelancers has messaged me. The upwork room also presents a red flag, which to me is a false signal.
I can imagine that there may be some users who find some of the messages helpful. Not me. I find it to be a distraction.
At the very minimum, when I leave the room, the room should not reappear.