🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Is Upwork's messaging to clients inadequa...
Page options
prestonhunter
Community Member

Is Upwork's messaging to clients inadequate? Causing problems?

Is Upwork's messaging to clients inadequate? Is it causing too many serious problems for clients, and for freelancers?

I have been wondering about this. I did NOT want to add to an existing thread created by any single client who came to the Forum with complaints about loss of money or time or other frustrations. This is DEFINITELY not about a single client. This is something I have been thinking about for quite some time, based on the complaints and threads of MANY different clients.

I am concerned about how often I see clients post here in the Forum complaining about disappointing experiences while using Upwork. And when one looks into it, at the heart of the problem was serious misconceptions or misunderstanding on the part of the client.

IN MY OWN work as a freelancer, I have run into major problems with clients who had serious misunderstandings about the nature of an hourly contract, and confused many aspects of such a contract with a fixed-price contract.

It IS POSSIBLE that Upwork has done everything it can possibly do to help clients understand how the platform works, and to help them understand how they can use the platform successfully.

But it is ALSO POSSIBLE that changes could be made to make it MORE LIKELY for clients to be successful here.

It is all well and good to say "they should have read the instructions." But when so many clients are having such serious problems, I have to wonder if there is something more that can be done.

Is there something more that Upwork could or shoud do?

Is there something more that YOU do as a freelancer, that I could learn from?

Does anybody have any suggestions?

10 REPLIES 10
sadia7777
Community Member

Hi Preston,