cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Low Pay for High Quality

Karianne K Member Since: Dec 3, 2014
31 of 59

I am a new oDesk user, after 30 applications still no job offer. I also think that the reason why I have not landed a job yet is because of my rate, not because I am new on oDesk. I have 12 years of work experience, created a strong profile on oDesk, took skills tests and created a portfolio.

I understand that some people, due to their geographic location (expecially those living in Asian countries) can work for a few dollar per hour, but I am a native Dutch speaker/ translator and you won't find many of those living in Asian countries. So why expect a Dutch translator to work for less than one dollarcent per word??

I was tricked by a Dutch client on oDesk, who offered a fixed rate for a translation. The rate was low but I just wanted to land my first job on oDesk so I applied anyway. After doing a test translation she offered me the job but the wordcount turned our to be 4x as high as advertised and she did not want to increase the fixed rate (I am sure that she did not make a mistake with the word count, she did it on purpose!). She also promised to pay for the 450 word test translation but she did not do that either.  

I explained to her why I could not work for the rate she offered (cost of living), but she just answered that "a rate of maximum one dollarcent per word is the going rate on oDesk", end of discussion.

My guess is that many freelancers in Europe and the US, who accept jobs for such low rates, are not paying income tax (and I can't really blame them if they don't)........how else can they put bread on the table for such low rates???? 

Community Guru
Dianne M Member Since: Jul 25, 2013
32 of 59

@Karriane,