cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

May I create an account as a client if I already have an account as a freelancer

Evgeniy S Member Since: Aug 8, 2017
1 of 6

I am a freelancer and I have an account in upwork as a freelancer. My main skills are Magento development. I want to make my own site using technology that I didn't work before with (for example laravel).
I'd want to create an account as a client to hire freelancer for this. 
May I do it? I need to know if itcontradict the upwork rules and if my freelancer profile will be blocked for it?

Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 6

You absolutely CAN have a client account and hire freelancers for your own personal purposes.

there are a few things to bear in mind:

Make sure you have a payment method that will be acceptable. Essentially you need a proper (!) credit card or a card backed verified PayPal account.

do not outsource work you win here, or at least only on fixed rate contracts and only with the client's permission. 

Do not hire any people you are in any way connected with (friends, relatives, housemates, neighbors).....

Do not create a new account. Add a client-side to your existing account by going to your settings, scrolling right down to the very bottom, and use the "create a company" function.

Evgeniy S Member Since: Aug 8, 2017
3 of 6

Thanks. Will think about it.

Also wanted to ask why can't I hire friends or relatives?

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 6

re: "Also wanted to ask why can't I hire friends or relatives?"

Because hiring friends or relatives is something freelancers do as a way to circumvent Upwork's rules and procedures.

Rather than getting hired by an actual client and getting evaluated and scored based on the quality of their work, a scoundrel freelancer will get hired by a friend or relative who will use these hirings to inflate the freelancer's work history and Job Success Score.